60s Inspired Look

If you’ve visited my blog before, then you’ve more than likely seen my header photo. Me, propped against my (old) car, sporting big hair and a cheesy grin.
The photos were actually taken before I danced my way around the 2016 Cromer carnival route, so they’re not exactly recent, but fabulous enough that I feel I should share the look.

 

The Outfit: 

The dress I’m wearing is a 60s vintage piece from my favourite independent vintage shop in Norwich, Retreat Vintage. It’s owned by such a gorgeous couple and they always go out of their way to help me when I go in with my mad ideas and costume requirements! I wanted something that was both in keeping with the time, but not so garish that I wouldn’t want to wear it again.

In an ideal world, I’d have had some 60s mid-heel pumps or Mary-Janes, but dancing through the streets behind our ribbon-adorned float called for comfort, so I opted for my trusty white converse. I know, not exactly period specific, and for the record they didn’t stop me getting a blister either – ouch!

The Hair and Make-up:

When I think of 60s style icons, one of the first to come to mind is Brigitte Bardot. She pioneered the parted fringe and the messy I’ve-just-piled-my-hair-up-on-my-head up-do. So it was she who I drew my inspiration from, creating a half-up bouffant and letting the rest tumble down into curls.
Makeup was all about the dramatic, dark lined, smoky eyes, finished off with long lashes and a good flick of eyeliner.

 

Blister aside, it was a brilliant day. The sky was beautifully blue, I was surrounded by friends, and I even got up close and personal with a dinosaur.


Leave a Reply

